Instrument Panel

The instruments are all installed and the panel is complete save the switches which I haven’t finalized yet.

I laid out my instruments using a 2D CAD package and printed out the drawing to tape to the instrument panel.  The center for all the instruments were clearly marked.  If you use this methed you have to drill the center holes BEFORE you cut any of the large holes, otherwise the first large hole you drill will shread the paper and you will lose your reference for the other centers.

There is plenty is plenty of room on the panel for a nice tight instrument layout, but you have to be careful of the rear cross bar that supports the lower edge of the dash panel.  I was off about 3/16″ low when I placed the template for my speedo and tach.  They looked fine from the front, but didn’t clear the cross piece once I tried to fit the finished dash.  Rather than trash the dash, which came out quite well, I elected to do some grinder surgery on the cross piece.  This isn’t structural so I wasn’t too concerned about weakening it.

dscf1721-small.jpgdscf1724-small.jpgdscf1727-small.jpg

Leave a Reply

